Hello everyone

Andreafish

Reaction score
Hi, on here to make new friends with nice people, learn some new ideas, impart some ideas and hopefully go fishing with one or two too. I have been fishing since I was eight years old with my mum, dad and uncles.

I have had lots of nice fish over the years: trout, grayling, roach, perch etc. I prefer lure fishing and like to do a lot of fly fishing. I learned my fishing trade on the local lakes and ponds, fens, witham, welland, till, forty foot and a river Trent that was covered in soap suds.

My best fish is a 16pnd common carp caught at Dunham bridge in 2006 on six maggots on a size 12. I have fishing preferences, it used to be grayling in 1978, trout during the 1980s, barbel in the 1990s, now its Zanders. I have never grown to fully accept the commercial fisheries. I don't particularly know why ? I don't condemn anyone for using them. My BF got the fishing bug when he fished at Lindholme. I have a personal love for the south yorkshire river don and south yorkshire navigation canal, trout and grayling above sheffield and just about everything else below rotherham in the don and well lilly pads, canadian pond weed in the canal, unbelievable a few years ago. I think mainly because no one in their right mind during the late 1960s would dream of going near their dark, oily, smelly, grossly poluted waters.

I love fishing, but I have never caught a zander, sea trout or salmon.

My fave fish at the moment is Zander, mainly cos I haven't caught one lol. Oh, I have tried lure fishing for zander on the trent at north muskham, collingham, dunham bridge and well didnt catch one or any pike just two perch.

I think it was about time I registered on a large fishing forum.

Last edited:

Mithrandir

Reaction score
Hello and welcome Andrea, I have the strange feeling I said Hi to you yesterday somewhere else ??

Anyway there are plenty of anglers on here up your neck of the woods, just watch out for the guitar playing ecclesiast.