Inflatable Kayak (New to kayaking and want to buy)

emmamark

Reaction score
I have recently become very interested in buying an inflatable kayak, but I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I want a two-person inflatable kayak and will be using it mainly in the ocean for cruising the shoreline (possibly doing a little fishing). I and my buddy have a combined weight of 460lbs. I want an inflatable kayak because I have nowhere to store a large kayak.

My question: what is the minimum cost to get set up with all that is needed (kayak, oars, pump, carrying bag)? I don't want a cheap kayak, so no Coleman crap, but I'm a student and don't have lots of money. Is under $500 reasonable? Is an ocean kayak much different from the other types of kayaks? Any suggestions on brands or manufacturers I should be looking for? I live in the San Fernando Valley, any suggestions on places to go?

Thanks in advance for any advice. I am new to kayaking so any suggestions will be helpful.

emmamark

Reaction score
I have recently become very interested in buying an inflatable kayak, but I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I want a two-person inflatable kayak and will be using it mainly in the ocean for cruising the shoreline (possibly doing a little fishing). I and my buddy have a combined weight of 460lbs. I want an inflatable kayak because I have nowhere to store a large kayak.

My question: what is the minimum cost to get set up with all that is needed (kayak, oars, pump, carrying bag)? I don't want a cheap kayak, so no Coleman crap, but I'm a student and don't have lots of money. Is under $500 reasonable? Is an ocean kayak much different from the other types of kayaks? Any suggestions on brands or manufacturers I should be looking for? action camera for kayaking I live in the San Fernando Valley, any suggestions on places to go?

Thanks in advance for any advice. I am new to kayaking so any suggestions will be helpful.
thanks in advance for any help

Last edited:

fishface1