Loop to loop problem.

black kite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
I wonder if any of the members have the same problem as me with attaching new hook lengths
I use the sensas loop tyer to make quite small loops and find that after a while these loops tend to close up. When I think I need to change the hook I sometimes find I am wasting valuable time trying to get the point of the usually size 20 hook through the closed up loop. Any ideas?
 

black kite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
The problem is not the loop tyer. The line in the loop is sticking together making it a pain to pass the hook point through the mainline loop
 

whitty

Well-known member
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
5,057
Reaction score
663
Location
Luton Bedfordshire.
Have a size 2 barbless hook,or something similar sitting ready,a bent large needle perhaps,put the point through,ease it to the bend and put it under tension,it will leave a nice loop again.I'm curious,is this on pole rigs?
 

peter crabtree

AKA Simon
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
7,691
Reaction score
668
Location
Metroland. SW Herts
I use a knot pick to open flat loops....
 

Paste paul

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2020
Messages
305
Reaction score
199
Location
Sheffield
I wonder if any of the members have the same problem as me with attaching new hook lengths
I use the sensas loop tyer to make quite small loops and find that after a while these loops tend to close up. When I think I need to change the hook I sometimes find I am wasting valuable time trying to get the point of the usually size 20 hook through the closed up loop. Any ideas?
Yes it’s a pain.......
I normally use a 4 turn water knot to join my lines but sometimes use the loop to loop....
I too tried the senses loop tyer as it made beautiful small loops which look super..... unfortunately I found two problems
One was I seemed to get more tangles involving the loops and.......
The other was your problem.....
What I did/do is push the two loops towards each other holding knots...... when they open up I gently pull the loop apart....... it’s fiddly though.
 

black kite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Have a size 2 barbless hook,or something similar sitting ready,a bent large needle perhaps,put the point through,ease it to the bend and put it under tension,it will leave a nice loop again.I'm curious,is this on pole rigs?
Yes it is on pole rigs.
 

whitty

Well-known member
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
5,057
Reaction score
663
Location
Luton Bedfordshire.
Right,this isn't a accusation,lol,but if you dont re-do your rigs the loops will get more stretched,we are all guilty of it at times,we cant expect to catch fair amounts of fish on a rig and only change the hooklink:),another tool I use is the Korda baiting needle,a very smooth chromed tool which does the job admirably. Hope that is some help...
 

black kite

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
2
Right,this isn't a accusation,lol,but if you dont re-do your rigs the loops will get more stretched,we are all guilty of it at times,we cant expect to catch fair amounts of fish on a rig and only change the hooklink:),another tool I use is the Korda baiting needle,a very smooth chromed tool which does the job admirably. Hope that is some help...
Quite right. Fair comment I do sometimes over use the rigs. I think the baiting needle thing seems a good idea.
 

Ray Roberts

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
4,256
Reaction score
227
Location
Eltham, SE London
How are you doing loop to loop.
Dont put hook through it's own loop.
That’s what I was thinking. You should push the mainline loop through the hook link loop and then pass the hook out via the mainline loop. That’s how I was shown to do it as it is supposed to be stronger and far easier to untie by pushing the loops together.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

markcw

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
3,872
Reaction score
964
Location
Oxford, and occasionally Warrington Lancs
That’s what I was thinking. You should push the mainline loop through the hook link loop and then pass the hook out via the mainline loop. That’s how I was shown to do it as it is supposed to be stronger and far easier to untie by pushing the loops together.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I was doing that yesterday with 5lbs mainline and 5lbs hooklength, held them at knots on loop and pushed together, came apart easily,
When you push them apart, the knot looks like a version of a reef knot.
I think if you put the hook through it's own loop, it's called a strangulated knot, and very difficult to undo
 

rayner

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 9, 2015
Messages
3,097
Reaction score
302
Location
South Yorkshire.
I wonder if any of the members have the same problem as me with attaching new hook lengths
I use the sensas loop tyer to make quite small loops and find that after a while these loops tend to close up. When I think I need to change the hook I sometimes find I am wasting valuable time trying to get the point of the usually size 20 hook through the closed up loop. Any ideas?
You could always teach yourself to tie figure 8 knots and forget the loops, they'll be no issues with a correctly tied figure 8. It takes a couple of minutes extra, not much time for what I consider a better knot.
 

whitty

Well-known member
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
5,057
Reaction score
663
Location
Luton Bedfordshire.
I find it impossible to tie loops with a tyer as small as I can by hand,also I use what is supposed to be an inferior knot,i'm afraid for everything from carp,barbel,chub,down to gudgeon on light or heavy tackle I have never ever had an issue....
 
Top