Starting a Club

bailpy6

Reaction score
Hey,

I wondered if anyone could offer any help and guidance.

Myself and a friend are about to take on a lake. We know what we are doing in running the lake, he is currently doing a fishery management course.

it's the more legal/financial/reporting side of it we are a bit stuck on.

It will be one lake but controlling on behalf of our local council.

We are going to be a non profit lake, and will be charging for day tickets and also a membership for those who don't want to always pay a day ticket if they plan on fishing often. Anything we make will 100% go back into the Lake in work on it and stocking. I am a qualified bookkeeper so am fine in keeping records etc. We do want to join the AT as well as it will cover us. However I feel before we join we need to be registered somewhere as a club?

However, I am lost on where we register and have to report too.

What do we have to register as? And through who?

And what do we need to report?

Any help is much appreciated.

Mark Wintle

Reaction score
Being affiliated to the Angling Trust/Fish Legal can help with public liability insurance.

To me you're not running a club as such which would have elections, consitution etc. but more a leasehold whereby you sell a permit whether annual or day/week ticket, in which case you make up the rules which may resemble many of those that clubs have eg disciplinary, fish/fishery protection, methods allowed etc.

mikench

Reaction score
It sounds to me you will be running a commercial fishery and charging punters either by the day or month or year. You probably should be a Limited Liability company or a partnership( you and your mate) with public liability, rules common to most fisheries and insurance against pollution, loss of income etc. What you do with profits ie excess income over expenses is up to you and you alone. The pond is to be only owned by you . You will not be entering leases for other waters nor buying them.