What Fish and kit?

paulpo

Reaction score
Hi. I am partially disabled and am trying to get the right setup. I'm new to fishing, only been three times, watched a lot of beginners videos etc. I'm looking at fisheries, canals and ponds.

I need to have a setup thats easy to carry, easy to set up and a bait that I dont have to buy on the day. I would like to be able to just go without planning.

At the moment, I have a whip with rig tied to the end (elastic bit broke), a chair, rod rest, landing net and tackle bag. This is about the most I can carry and rig seems easy to use.

Originally, I wanted to go for carp but realised that the whip wouldnt be too good for anything big. A mate has lent me a rod and real and told me to use magots. Ive tryed it but the rod seems to take a long time to set up and ideally, I dont want to use magots.

So is there a way to go for carp without a lot of kit?

If I go for smaller stuff, what bait can I use that I can keep in the house?

What would happen if I accidentally hooked something big on a whip?

mikench

Reaction score
You could receive lots of different answers. If I were you I would ditch the whip, buy some pellets( micros, 4,6and 8mm from your tackle shop or Angling direct on line) say Mainline Cell, buy an 11’ feeder rod and some guru hybrid feeders 24and 28g and have a go. Watch some videos and practice setting up. If I can do it anyone can. Pellets do not deteriorate, do not metamorphosise and can be kept at home un refrigerated. There are dozens of different pellets, boilies and other hook baits with a long shelf life. Feeder rods can be bought new for £50. Buy some Guru QM1 4” hooks sizes 12 and 14 with bait bands, a guru tool for expanding the band and you are good to go. You don’t say what your disability is and if it’s dexterity in your fingers and hands rather than mobility,then you might struggle.

Last edited:

nottskev

Reaction score