Bait droppers....

Alan Whitty

Reaction score
I have been using the plastic Dinsmores version for many years but in recent times they have become a rubbish item, I've lost two doors just fell off and the cork where you hook onto is now superglue so that also falls off, my problem is, is that the lead on the plastic dropper is the right size but the metal ones have too little causing issues sinking straight down in running water, I've tried many variations, ie Fox, Seymo etc but am unhappy size wise, does anyone have a suggestion, or possible a tackle shop who sources their own version?

nottskev

Reaction score
I know what you mean Alan. I think it's a tackle item crying out for a good new design- there are countless good pole cups and ingenious feeders, but no sign of anything new in bait droppers. Mind you, if I ever get a decent one I can be relied on to drop it straight into a snag that swallows it up.

Did you see the home-made one Steve Arnold put up a couple of weeks back?

Dropper.jpg

Philip

Reaction score
Finding a good dropper is a pain. I find the issue of durability more of a concern than the issue of not enough lead as you can add lead to a dropper if its too light. I liked the metal Dinsmores but the hinges are rubbish and the door falls offf over time. I think it was Cygnet that used to make some droppers that looked alot like the Dinsmores ones but they also had a giant model..biggest I have ever seen but it appears to be discontinued.

I recently started to use these droppers from AL-U they are not perfect, you have to glue the plastic lug that holds the door shut on the metal arm else it pulls off but since I did that they seem to work ok but I have only used them for a short while so reserve final judgement. You also need to add lead in a strong current but what I did like was the large size holds alot of bait. There are two sizes medium and large, I am not sure if they are available in the UK so it may take some googling to find.

dropper1.jpg