Newbee here

Tonga82

Reaction score
Hi All, I'm new to Angling (only started this last oct 2021) and I've been enjoying it so much I've been going pretty much every weekend since. I managed to catch Chubs perch, roach, dace and bream but my target for this year are barbel and carp.

I have a question I was hopping you lot could help me.

what's the difference between a spinning rod and ledgering/feeder rod?

my mate wants one for his bday and I'm trying to assess what the difference is.

any help will be welcome

john step

Reaction score
Spinning rod often called a lure rod or possibly a drop shot rod is for artificial lures mainly to target predators such as perch, pike, zander, trout, chub etc.
Lures are spinners ( hence the name) soft plastic creature imitations etc. The range is limitless for those with deep pockets.
This is a branch of fishing in its own right.

Ledger or feeder rod sometimes called a quivertip rod in the older days for fishing a bait with a weight to cast and hold bottom against.

Loads of You tube videos on both disciplines. Tight lines.

mikench

Reaction score
A good explanation. Two totally different types of rod for two totally different techniques and if it isn't obvious one will not do the other.

markcw

Exiled Northerner
Reaction score
Oxford, and occasionally Warrington Lancs
The OP was asking about the difference between the rods, obviously he didn't know otherwise he wouldn't be asking.
It seems as if he is not an angler and was doing his best to buy a suitable rod for his friend.
Maybe his friend will get him fishing and he will enjoy the various methods .
As for one rod not doing both styles ,I have a 7'6" canal wand ,ideal for small feeders/leads , I have also used it with a small waggler and the finest tip in the rod to hit short range lightning bites off small fish, It also came in as a drop shot rod last year,

mikench

Reaction score