winter fishing

A

andy connor

hi guys
can anyone give me advice what species are available to catch this time of year i'm new to see fishing and just want to bend a rod. i,ll be fishing somewhere in plymouth cheers guys any help will be much appreciated.

A

alan outen

the most obvious ones are cod, whiting, flounders, pout,LSD's but diferant areas produce diffent fish, the easiest thing to do would be ask the tackle shop whats being caught.

M

michael rouse

me and a mate went fishing in wales and had dog fish,whiting ,small pollack and codling.the guy i buy bait from said he caught bull huss and small conger over a rocky bottom at night.

K

Kieran Hanrahan

Hi Andy

Given your location, there may still be some bass about given the weather has been quite mild, but most people would concentrate on codling and whiting from now until February or March. If you want Flounder head for the estuaries although you can catch them just about anywhere!

You will get all the species listed by the lads above and possibly a few others, smaller species like poor cod. It does depend on the exact location - ask at the local SAC and or tackle shop for advice.

FWIW...

A

andy connor

cheers lads thats the sort of responce i was after i fancy giving whiting a go i'll start looking into i. are mullet not an option this time of year?

M

michael rouse

kieran.im new to all angling and just wondered the best baits for flounder.iv never caught one and would like to next week.iv got small sandeels and loads of mackeral.would these work ?what features should i look for when flounder fishing?

M

michael rouse

the programmes on tv show that mullet are hard to catch.

A

alan outen